Currently Browsing: Criminal Charges

Drug Charges: Penalties for Marijuana Possession in Texas

Even as several states across America have chosen to decriminalize or even legalize the use of marijuana, there are still plenty of areas where possession could lead to serious drug charges. One such place in the United States is Texas. A Collin County criminal defense lawyer would probably inform you that carrying even small amounts of marijuana can lead to penalties that may severely impact an individual’s personal relationships and professional prospects.

The penalties for a marijuana possession charge depend on several factors. Sometimes, the court may decide on how a criminal offense will be served based whether or not the individual was previously convicted for the same offense. However, in Texas, the penalty for marijuana possession is mostly determined to be served by an individual will depend on the amount they were found to be on a person.

This means that a person carrying 2 ounces or less would face a misdemeanor charge and would be expected to serve up to 180 days in jail and pay a maximum $2,000 fine. For the possession of 2 to 4 ounces of marijuana, which is also a misdemeanor, an individual would like have to do up to a year in jail as well as pay maximum of $4,000 in fines.

Possessing marijuana in larger amounts than the aforementioned is already considered by Texas law as a felony. For carrying 4 ounces to 5 pounds, a person can be sentenced to about 6 months to 2 years in state jail, as well as pay a fine of up to $10,000. Marijuana that totals to 5 to 50 pounds often leads to roughly 2 to 10 years in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine. For 50 to 2,000 pounds of marijuana, the penalties could be spending up to 20 years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000. For possessing more than 2,000 pounds of marijuana, a convicted individual can expect a life imprisonment sentence and paying up to $50,000 in fines.